DSM-5 Changes

The long-awaited update to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders has been released: the DSM-5. Nearly twenty years from the previous major edition, the DSM-5 is largely a minor revision and update. While some disorders have been renamed or moved around, very few new diagnoses were added to the DSM-5.

What you need to know most about are the big changes. The ones that may impact your diagnosis of future clients. So we’ve combed through the DSM-5 and summarized the major differences between it and the previous edition (the DSM-IV).

Here is the summary of the big changes:

DSM-5 Released: The Big Changes

Here are details of each of the major disorder categories:

DSM-5 Changes: Depression & Depressive Disorders

DSM-5 Changes: Anxiety Disorders & Phobias

DSM-5 Changes: Bipolar & Related Disorders

DSM-5 Changes: Schizophrenia & Psychotic Disorders

DSM-5 Changes: Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

DSM-5 Changes: Addiction, Substance-Related Disorders & Alcoholism

DSM-5 Changes: PTSD, Trauma & Stress-Related Disorders

DSM-5 Changes: Feeding & Eating Disorders

DSM-5 Changes: Obsessive-Compulsive and Related Disorders

DSM-5 Changes: Dissociative Disorders

DSM-5 Changes: Personality Disorders (Axis II)

DSM-5 Changes: Sleep-Wake Disorders

DSM-5 Changes: Neurocognitive Disorders


Scientifically Reviewed
Last updated: 23 Jun 2014
Last reviewed: By John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on 23 Jun 2014
Published on All rights reserved.